Berry Season!

8 Sep

There is nothing more heartwarming to me than picking berries with my children.  I don’t know if it’s because it reminds me of picking blackberries with my parents when I was a child, or if it is because berries only ripen when the long-absent Seattle sun makes its return.  All I know is, when I think of my idea of happiness, picking blueberries with my girls is at the top of my list.  It’s so great, even the dog joins in!

Anyway, a couple months ago our dear friend Kitty Pearl at Road Home Quilting had a poll to choose a favorite vintage apron. She posted a ‘Picker’s Apron’ and I fell in love.  I had never heard of or seen such an apron! It looked adorable, functional and easy to make!  The appeal was that it was an apron that had strings in it you could draw up to turn it into a basket.  I wouldn’t have to use my skirt anymore!

It turns out that was a favorite among many, and would be published in new book; How to Make Aprons. I was smitten and knew I needed the pattern ‘one day’.

How to Make Aprons

As luck would have it, @RoadHomeQuiltin (as followed on Twitter) was giving out a copy of this wonderful book and Selina was lucky enough to win it! She knew how badly I wanted to make the pickers apron and she lent me the book to make it!  I even had a lovely cherry fabric given to me by my Aunt Eileen to make it in.  After a couple calls to my mom for help reading a pattern, (clothing patterns aren’t my thing) I knocked out an adorable apron!

Picker's Apron

I used vintage buttons from my grandmother’s button box as the draw pulls, and vintage ric-rac Selina had as a cute accent! I was very pleased with the end result!

TaDa!

I was able to make this apron, start to finish, in just a couple hours.  We were out picking lots of blueberries in no time at all!

Fresh Blueberries!!

The girls enjoyed picking blueberries and putting them into the pouch of my new apron, but couldn’t wait until it was their turn to wear it too!

Picking Berries!

Each girl got a turn.

Sienna with blueberries

Capri with Apron

We had a very successful picking experience in the back yard with our new apron.  Not a single berry was spilled! In fact, we had enough for a delicious cobbler! The very rainy spring/summer made for excellent berries.

Berry Cobbler

The girls had so much fun with this apron that they went around looking for berries on the blackberry and raspberry bushes. The result was this delicious berry cobbler! In case I haven’t mentioned it, Fall is my favorite season and harvesting is the reward for the labor!

ProTip:  If you make your apron in white as I did, and you’re picking berries that stain, try using Zout to treat the stains before washing! Mine comes out as good as new!

Happy Harvest!

Lizze

3 Responses to “Berry Season!”

  1. Beth September 8, 2011 at 4:43 pm #

    So cute!! What a fun family activity 🙂 By the way, you ladies are really making me want some ric-rac!

  2. Kitty Pearl September 8, 2011 at 5:29 pm #

    You made a family heirloom with grandmother’s buttons and a memorable fun family sewing-picking-baking day. Sew Sweet 🙂 Thanks for sharing your day with us!

  3. Tammy September 9, 2011 at 4:00 am #

    Berry picking is an awesome family activity but you made it even more so with those adorable aprons. What a great post!

Leave a Reply

