I Got In Trouble

3 Aug

There is a dream sewing machine that every quilter has. It’s not the same machine for all of us. A sewing machine that would make quilting so much more enjoyable and take some of the extra work out of it it for us. For me, this dream machine is a Bernina 440QE. This machine, brand new, is right around four thousand dollars. Throw in the walking foot that I need for attaching binding and straight line quilting and that tacks on an extra hundred and fifty. So, this is a pricey machine and one that has always been out of my reach.

A year and a half ago I got the okay from my husband to buy a new sewing machine. I lusted after those Berninas… oh yes, I did. But I couldn’t afford one. I ended up taking home the next best thing. I was so happy to leave the store that day with my Viking Sapphire 875. She is a gorgeous machine and has so many really great features. This is Ingrid (she’s German so she had to have a German name, you know.). Her and I have had some great times together. But the Bernina was my first true love. I wasn’t looking to cheat on her. I really wasn’t. But you know how these things go.

I saw Bernie in a quilt shop. Sitting there all cute and batting her thread cutters at me. Flaunting her BSR all over the place. I commented to the shop owner how much I wanted to take Bernie home with me, but alas, I couldn’t afford her. Then the owner said the magic words “she’s on sale, you know.”

I left the shop, but her words kept echoing in my mind. Taunting me. I literally couldn’t sleep. I mentioned it to my husband (in a room far away from Ingrid so she wouldn’t hear of my treacherousness) and he said if I sold my beloved Ingrid, I could then have Bernie. I placed ads on Craigslist, facebook, harassed my friends on twitter, but to no avail. No one wanted my poor Ingrid.

I couldn’t get Bernie out of my mind. I wanted her. I had to have her. So I came up with an ingenious plan (or so I thought). I worked out a way to bring Bernie home before I had actually sold Ingrid. I guess you could say that they are now sister wives – for now. I can only handle one lady at a time here, two are just a bit much for me. Plus, my husband is overrun with estrogen in this house so something has got to give. Not to mention that he isn’t speaking to me until Ingrid has packed her bags and left town.

It’s time for Ingrid and I to break up. She has been wonderful and we’ve shared some good times, but we have to move on. We’ve made peace and said our goodbye’s and she is ready to be with someone else.

She has been serviced, oiled, all cleaned up and spiffy. She comes with lots of presser feet and can do so many amazing things. Also included is a genuine Husqvarna/Viking walking foot (cause, you know, a lady can never have too many designer shoes), and an 18″ x 24″ sew steady acrylic extension table. She can be yours for $2000 (or make me an offer I can’t refuse) – plus shipping if you don’t live in the Seattle area.

http://www.husqvarnaviking.com/us/17053_17194.htm <—– Click this link to download an extensive list of all of Ingrid’s many features and benefits.

She has been wonderful to me and has made some gorgeous quilts. I will  miss her greatly. Someone please give her a good home?

One Response to “I Got In Trouble”

  1. Linda Lewis Ezuka (@Quiltingunder) August 27, 2011 at 6:22 pm #

    Hilarious! Check out my Eva Bernina post! http://wp.me/p1JRkn-1A Cheers! Linda at QUTI.org

Leave a Reply

