Royal Garden and Bloggers Quilt Festival

18 May

Woo! I’m skidding in here just in time for the bloggers quilt festival. I’ve been working on this quilt for quite some time and when I saw that this festival was going on, it motivated me to kick my butt into high gear and finish it.

Amy over at http://amyscreativeside.com/ is hosting this festival for quilting bloggers and it looked like a lot of fun. There are over 500 blogs linked up for this event. What fun!!!

The quilt I’d like to show off is called Royal Garden. I literally just finished it today. It was quite a challenge for me as I usually make big block, patchwork type quilts. I’m not one for matching points and all that nonsense. I saw the quilt pictured in my connecting threads catalog a very long time ago and I just fell in love with it. I didn’t really care that it looked way beyond my skill level. After I got all of the fabrics home I started cutting. That’s when I realized I may have bitten off more than I could chew.

This is the daunting pile I ended up with. It actually scared me to think of having to sew all those pieces together and try to make them all line up. I’d never made a flying geese block before and this pattern required me to do about 6,256 of them (I’m exaggerating, of course, but it felt like that many!)


This was the block I ended up with.The points aren’t perfect, but they are much better than I thought I’d do! One down, 15 to go.

There were also 15 snowball blocks that were needed for this quilt. And a whole bunch more flying geese for the border.

This is the quilt top I ended up with. And after all that work, guess what I did? I folded it up and put it away. The thought of quilting it was more than I could bear. One of my worst fears whenever I make something is that my quilting will completely ruin it. I was so proud I’d gotten as far as I did and now I didn’t want to screw it up.

About a month ago – after this top had collected plenty of dust and cobwebs – I decided to pull it out and have a go at it. Here’s what she looks like now:

I’m very happy with the way it turned out and I’m glad I finally got up the courage to finish it. Getting this done has taught me to not be afraid to do anything. As long as I put my mind to it, I can make whatever I want. Even if it’s difficult I will no longer tell myself I have to pass up a pretty quilt because I could never have the talent required to make it.

Lizze is trying to encourage me to enter into this years fair. It isn’t perfect, by any means, and I’m certain there are no awards to be had for this one. But it might be fun to try it once and see what happens.

So that’s my contribution to this years Bloggers Quilt Festival. I hope you like it. Please be sure to visit the other blogs linked up too! There sure are some gorgeous quilts to be seen. Here’s the link again for you to hop on over to Amy’s blog to check out all the lovelies over there:

http://amyscreativeside.com/

Thanks for stopping by!

Selina


7 Responses to “Royal Garden and Bloggers Quilt Festival”

  1. Heather May 18, 2011 at 10:17 pm #

    Selina!! I love it!!! What a gorgeous quilt.

  2. siobhan May 18, 2011 at 10:45 pm #

    Hi, just wanted to say I think your quilt is gorgeous. It looks like a lot of work but it is beautiful. 🙂

    • Sara May 19, 2011 at 2:16 am #

      Those block are tedious–I have done some before–you nailed it!! You should enter the fair!

  3. lynette May 19, 2011 at 11:36 am #

    This is pretty! You and I had incredibly similar stories with our entries. 🙂 My quilt top sat for 2 entire years before I got the courage up to quilt it!

  4. wanderingstarsonetsy May 20, 2011 at 1:11 am #

    Thank you so much everyone! It was definitely the most difficult quilt I’ve made yet. I was saying all kinds of awful four letter words and I swore I’d never do it again. But you know what? The VERY next quilt pattern I bought had more flying geese…

  5. Penny G May 20, 2011 at 12:56 pm #

    Such a great quilt. The colors are so fitting for this quilt.

  6. Anne Ida May 22, 2011 at 6:21 pm #

    Absolutely gorgeous! Love the blocks, and how you set them!

Leave a Reply

