Quilts For Japan Update

29 Apr

You know, it’s funny how things happen.  I had in my mind what I wanted to make for my Quilts For Japan quilt ( that is to say, I had fabric I wanted to use) but I am donating a completely different quilt!

I have had this Quilt Kit in my stash for quite some time:

Fossil Fern Quilt Kit

This is a medallion wall hanging from Benartex.  It has a medallion for the center and gradient Fossil Fern fabrics in blues and purples.  I never had a strong desire to make the quilt as shown, so I made a sketch of two blocks, and cut the fabric into bits.  What I ended up with is this:

I’m quite pleased with how this turned out, considering I made it up on the fly.  The inner lavender border and binding are batik.  I received the batik from my grandmother’s estate, and it fit perfectly with the Fossil Ferns.  I also had lavender Minkee on hand, so naturally, it is backed in Minkee.  (SO SOFT!!)

Originally I was going to call this quilt Bento Box, but there is already a beautiful, well known pattern called Bento Box. Alas.  I think I’ll call this Chopsticks.

So, why is it this isn’t what I had in mind?  Well, as i was making this beautiful quilt, one of my completed quilts found its way back home to me.  I had given it to my grandma (my other grandma), and she has never used it.  It always sat beautifully folded in a room.  She is beginning to downsize and asked if I would like it back.  It is considerably larger than Chopsticks, and I felt it was a better quilt to give.

Delft

I was so please to be able to share this quilt with someone.  I may have said it earlier, but what I lack in cash, I make up for in fabric.  I want to help, and this is honestly the best way  know how.  I do know that monetary needs are still there, and will be for quite some time.  With that in mind, I will be donating the proceeds from Chopsticks to the Red Cross.

There are so many people in need right now, and with yesterday’s devastating tornadoes tearing through the South, Selina and I see our next calling.  Stay tuned for a call out for a quilter help within the next few days!

Don’t forget to enter yourself into the drawing for our big prize on our earlier blog!  We also host #gdas on Twitter, Friday night’s at 6 PM Pacific, where we Get Drunk and Sew.  Or talk about sewing. Or Merkins, or whatever.  Join us!! WS_on_Etsy

Thanks for everything!

Lizze

2 Responses to “Quilts For Japan Update”

  1. Travis J April 29, 2011 at 9:14 am #

    That’s awesome. Your work is beautiful.

  2. Sharon @ A Prairie Sunrise April 29, 2011 at 1:23 pm #

    Thanks for reminding me! I almost forgot about #gdas, I still have to finish the rest of the prize for tonight. 🙂

    Love the chopsticks quilt!!!

Leave a Reply

