My First Quilt Along

12 Apr

If you’ve never done a quilt along before, join the club! I have never participated in one because I have so  much going on that I didn’t feel I could commit to finish. Then I found a link on twitter to a super easy quilt along hosted by Melanie of Above All Fabric. All it takes is a charm pack (pre-cut 5-inch squares of fabric), 3/4 of yard for sashing, and another 1/2 yard each for borders and binding. And the best part? It only takes a week!

Bliss Fabrics

The fabric line I chose for mine is “Bliss” by Bonnie and Camille for Moda. I love this line and I already had a charm pack so I didn’t have to buy any fabric for this quilt (which, I’m not gonna lie… that helped in my decision to make it!). After we’re done making the quilt, we’re also going to be making a bag to go with it.

If you want to join in, it’s not too late.

http://www.aboveallfabric.com/blog/?p=4701

Selina

3 Responses to “My First Quilt Along”

  1. wanderingstarsonetsy April 13, 2011 at 2:58 am #

    Goodness that looks fun! And I have a charm pack here too! I will make one as well!

    Lizze

  2. Jane Bertolaccini May 4, 2011 at 5:35 pm #

    I had always wanted to learn quilting but had never had a chance – no courses in my area, etc. Then I ordered this book and it did magic: it removed my fears and made me feel that, though quilting does involve work, that work can be pleasant and fun. The instructions and ilustrations are very clear. Detail: I am Brazilian and learned English as a foreign language; in spite of that, I could understand the instructions very well. That proves how clear they are. The projects are also interesting – well detailed, with perfect measurings so that you will not be disappointed. For me it was indeed the ideal first book. It made my first experiences in quilting very rewarding and frustration-free.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. We Have a Winner!! « Wandering Stars Blog - May 4, 2011

    […] wanted to follow up on an earlier blog that Selina had done about a Quilt Along.  I was very excited when she posted this because I have charm packs that need to be used.  One I […]

Leave a Reply

