The Disappearance of the Domestic Product

25 Feb

It’s no secret that finding products made in America are harder and harder to find.  Here in Seattle, our “hometown” aerospace manufacturer, Boeing, was just awarded the Air Force Tanker contract!  They were in competition with EADS (Airbus), a European company.  It was a very close competition, but ultimately the American contractor won out, creating American jobs making airplanes for the American military.  It seems odd to me that we nearly lost an American military contract to a foreign company.

I’m not trying to be political here, but I have to wonder what has become of manufacturing in this country.  MADE IN AMERICA!  It used to be a source of pride and a badge of honor.  Is low cost and net profit the American way now?  I suppose that’s the nature of capitalism and I need to get with the program.  But what if I don’t want to?  What if I genuinely want to purchase goods made here, despite the “high cost”.  Fabric, for instance.

I fancy myself a fabric snob.  I love well manufactured cottons, and I am a big consumer of boutique fabrics.  I’m not sure why I was so surprised to find my favorite, high end lines of fabric were made over seas, but I was.  Maybe it’s because the cotton usually starts here and is shipped overseas, and that the offices of these companies are here in the states…Anyhow, it got me to thinking about where I might be able to find textiles manufactured, beginning to end, from the USA.  My quest has begun!

I know the clothing manufacturer American Apparel is made in America.  And by made, I mean they process their own cotton, weave it, dye it, design it, cut it and produce clothes from it all in downtown L.A. That being said, they don’t make quilting fabric.

Many of the fabrics offered at Connecting Threads (a company from Washington Sate!) are made from American cotton, woven and printed here…but is that it?  Are there not any other textile companies that offer domestic fabric?  The Warm Company (also from Washington!!) manufactures its batting here in America, and that’s pretty great!

I guess I didn’t think it would be so difficult to find American made quilting fabric, but I won’t give up the search!  In fact, maybe I won’t give up the demand, which is really what it’s all about.

Lizze

 

One Response to “The Disappearance of the Domestic Product”

  1. tjmeow September 12, 2011 at 6:48 am #

    I hear you. It is a shame. If you go to the mall wanting to by something made in America you’ld spend hours wandering around and probably come up empty handed.

Leave a Reply

