What to do When Your Kids Grow

9 Feb

Two years ago I promised my daughter I would make her a dress to wear for her first day of kindergarten. I purchased fabric that was brightly colored with letters and sock monkeys on it (she loves sock monkeys!). It was a total pain, I even put in a zipper! Dang, I must love this kid. I got the dress done just in time for her first day of school and she loved it. It immediately became her favorite dress and she wore it at least once a week.

 

She is now in 2nd grade. Imagine her disappointment when she tried to put it on recently and the zipper broke. She had grown quite a bit, so her favorite dress no longer fit her. My mother in law came over one weekend and while she was here we went through the kids clothes to give a bunch of them away. She donates to a local battered womens shelter so I frequently send things home with her to donate when she comes to visit. She put the sock monkey dress in the pile of giveaway clothes. She must not have realized how attached my girl was to it! Well, when grandma wasn’t looking, she fished it out of the pile and hid it under her bed.

One day while doing some serious deep cleaning I found the dress wadded up in a ball under there. I asked her about it and she told me the story of how she rescued it from being given away. I knew I had to do something with this dress because it was so special to her. I asked for her permission to cut it up and make some new things for her from the fabric. She loved the idea and quickly agreed.

Out of this one dress I ended up with a banner for her wall with her name on it, and a really cute little bag. I even reused the tag I had sewn to the inside of the dress that says “made with love by mom”.

Banner for her wall

Inside made with dress lining fabric

The point of this post was to inspire you to use what you already have to  make something new. I know my daughter would have been upset had I just given away this dress that was so special to her. I’m glad I could repurpose it to make something she will be able to use for a very long time. If you look closely at the bag, you will see some stains on the fabric that she got on it when she was playing in the mud or rolling in the grass. Those stains are memories and thinking about how they got there makes me smile.

Selina

Leave a Reply

