Our First Ever Giveaway Post!

21 Jan

I have decided that I want to do a little remodel of our blog. I read all kinds of crafty blogs from all over and in comparison I find the look of ours to be a little, well, blah. I want pretty colors, fancy links to awesome crafty stuff and wonderful crafty people, and to use it to promote others a bit more. Before I begin the process though, I’m going to need some feedback. That’s where the giveaway comes in. I have been hesitant to do a giveaway, but after much deliberation (read: deciding what I could stand to part with from my treasured stash) I have decided to go ahead and have one.

My question would be this: What makes you return to the same blog time and again? Is it because of all the wonderful links, the aesthetics, or the writing? Maybe you like blogs for their inspiration. Or maybe the thought of winning a prize entices you.

Speaking of prizes, you probably want to know what this one is! It’s a charm pack of Blossom by Moda Fabrics and a really great book called Cool Girls Quilt by Linda Lum DeBono. It’s got some cute projects in it that are perfect for beginners as well as more seasoned sewists.

What are your favorite things to see on a blog? It could be photos, tutorials, links to other blogs, prizes… lots of things. Here is the giveaway criteria… Leave a comment for us and let us know what keeps you coming back to read a blog. That’s all! One entry per person and duplicate entries will be deleted. I’ll choose a random winner on Wednesday January 26th. The more we hear from you, the better our blog will be when I’m done snazzing it up! Good luck!

Selina

 

19 Responses to “Our First Ever Giveaway Post!”

  1. Thomas January 21, 2011 at 11:12 pm #

    For a crafting blog I am all about projects. Not necessarily projects to do, but what that crafter is working on. I want to see works in progress as well as finished stuff.

    I also like stories; I like getting to know the people behind the stuff a bit, to get of feel of where they are coming from and how they translate that into what they make.

    I am really looking for people who make unique stuff rather than just repeat what is already out there.

    When I find that I keep coming back…

  2. Sally January 22, 2011 at 2:50 am #

    I definitely add a blog to my faves because of eye-candy-inspirational photographs. I also love a great tutorial…but really it’s the images that bring me back over and over again!

    Also, when I really connect with someone online, I am interested in what’s happening in their lives, so I’ll check back for that reason!

    Enjoy your revamping! And thanks for the chance to win!!

  3. MissAndree January 22, 2011 at 2:54 am #

    I come back to blogs that teach me something (tutorials, how-to, info about relevant sites, products or contests) and inspire me to write and create. Nice photos and a personal touch to the writing really help, as does a certain amount of quirkiness and imperfection — I like to witness the blogger’s growth as an artist/writer/etc.

  4. Mary on Lake Pulaski January 22, 2011 at 3:02 am #

    I come back to blogs that have great ideas for bright, crisp quilts, bags, table toppers etc from a variety of fabrics, not all one line.

  5. Paula Ganyard January 22, 2011 at 3:04 am #

    I read blogs to learn new things or tolesrn how todo things better, so tutorials are of interest to me. I also find that I am drawn to blogs that have great ohotos because they usually give me the best inspiration.

  6. Molly January 22, 2011 at 3:12 am #

    I like a blog that has lots of pictures of projects and some personal stories. Sometimes I relate to something and want to hit the subscribe button so I can come back and see how things progress … either with a project or a life situation. Things that I don’t like are music that automatically plays (come on!!), people that start every post with an apology for not posting, and blogs that are mostly just ads and posts that are just pushing sponsors.

    • wanderingstarsonetsy January 23, 2011 at 11:57 pm #

      I agree on the music 100%! I’ve had my volume way up without realizing it and when it comes on it scares the heck out of me!

  7. craftytammie January 22, 2011 at 3:31 am #

    I want to be a cool girl who quilts! I love tutorials – I get so inspired!

  8. Jacqueline January 22, 2011 at 4:14 am #

    I Love seeing crafts and the ‘real life’s aspect of all our lives. It makes reading you blog more real. Xoxo I Love lots of colors too. But making it a real reflection of your life makes it more endearing and we (the readers) feel more connected. Good luck on your overhaul!

  9. WandaFish January 22, 2011 at 11:16 am #

    Often I might ‘discover’ a blog through a giveaway, and let’s be honest, who doesn’t like the chance to win something? Crafting can be an expensive ‘hobby’!
    Inspiring pics and tutorials will have me coming back again, but the blogs I really follow (and there are many!) must be well written, with humour and details of what’s going on around the crafter – often quirky, sometimes sad but REAL 🙂

  10. Shelley January 22, 2011 at 11:33 pm #

    In general, I like seeing great photos & thoughtful posts. Tutorials are great, but it’s really the content I look for. I also like seeing what people are working on & the thought process behind it. And of course, giveaways are great!
    Stopping by from EtsyRain to say hi 🙂

  11. thepricklypinecone January 23, 2011 at 3:53 am #

    I love coming back to blogs because of the variety they each offer, I like little bits of life/craft/ inspiration.

  12. Jennifer Schmidt January 23, 2011 at 4:13 am #

    We are all doing blogs because we have read that we should.

    And we are all doing them because we hope that it somehow makes a difference.

    Well, maybe it will. I just think that you need to wait a long time to see the results.

    In the meantime, you need to continue to add great photos and interesting things, in other words: quality content. Blogs like dooce.com, notalwaysright.com, that cake wrecks page and regretsy.com are doing just fine because they offer great content. I think it’s actually good to study them, read them, and learn from them.
    Here is a comparison: can you imagine being a jewelry seller on Etsy? That’s tough. The jewelry market there is pretty saturated. But somehow we continue to see fabulous, innovative jewelry makers who have incredible photos and unique designs. If you can blog like a successful Etsy jeweler can sell, then you’re going to be an awesome blogger.

  13. Jennifer Schmidt January 23, 2011 at 4:20 am #

    Here is some more noise:

    – Choose a store/shop logo and stick with it. Create some brand identity. Use this logo on your Etsy Rain profile (remove the photo you have there now)and use this logo on your Etsy page. Use this image on Facebook too. At least the quilt photo is somewhat consistent.

    – You can update your Etsy Rain profile page to have a direct, working link to your Etsy page. Go ahead and do this.

    – OMG! You are making QUILTS? Ambitious!

    – Your market bags look like a really good product.

    • wanderingstarsonetsy January 23, 2011 at 11:54 pm #

      Thank you, Jennifer. We have had chats about coming up with a logo of sorts. We are kind of on the fence about how we want it to look. We really want something that lets customers know that we are actually two separate people and the quilt logo doesn’t really do that (hence the photo of us here). I signed up for the etsyrain account while I still had a shop by myself. I suppose I could update the photo now though, eh? ;)It may be time to just pay someone to design a logo/banner for us that we use all over so we have that continuity. We just have to agree on what it should look like!

  14. Shari January 26, 2011 at 4:33 am #

    Brand Identity is key, new posts and new projects to keep people coming to visit your blog is key. Giveaways are great, but I like to get to know the person behind the blog and website. Someone I can relate to, who wants to share their talents and other’s talents as well.

    Plus no music on a crafty blog or if you want it give them a choice.But your writing has to be creative and have your own voice! 🙂

  15. Tracy in SW WA January 26, 2011 at 5:35 am #

    All of these comments and suggestions are really good and well thought out! I have general likes and dislikes; absolutely none of what I’m about to say is specifically directed at your blog!

    Pictures of something is good. Pictures of something in the middle of a whole lot of excess background is bad. Music is The. Worst. (Having a ‘click here for music’ button is okay) A little humor (or a lot) is almost a life-or-death requirement. Don’t post only when you have something to sell. Learn how to embed links in your post. Use spell check. Learn how to insert, size and place pictures that are hosted somewhere other than in your blog program (okay, that’s mostly for Blogger blogs).

    If you’re a crafty blog by all means let us know about interesting/fun things in your ‘other’ life. But don’t morph into a mommy blog or a travel blog (one post with a few pics of your trip is fine – multiple posts with a day-to-day photolog? Not so much).

    If you use Twitter & tweet about a giveaway, a new item, The Next Big Thing? DON’T use the link to a page that requires your readers to log in to Facebook. This is a big hurkin’ deal. You can set FB to allow non-FB users to see what you want to share. If you don’t use that setting, I will immediately think that you only want the people in your club to see what you have to show.

    Oh, and when you decide on a logo or header for your blog? Don’t make it take up the whole screen! It’s a little thing, but it’s bothersome to have to scroll past the header to see what you’ve written – the blog is about your writing, not a big ol’ graphic!

    Have fun – you’ve got the creativity part covered! The hardest part is probably narrowing down all the choices you’ve given yourself!

  16. Patti January 26, 2011 at 10:19 am #

    When they show loads of photos and tutorials for how and what the person makes. As a new quilter I love tutorials.

    Patti xxx

  17. Robin January 26, 2011 at 5:02 pm #

    I like to see what others are making, and new fabric lines. Lots of pictures. 🙂 Nice giveaway!

Leave a Reply

