Christmas Sewing in Full Swing!

11 Dec

Sorry for being M.I.A. so much recently. This month is completely getting away from me. I can’t believe we only have 15 more days until Christmas! In between sewing gifts I have also been sewing items to sell. I’ll be in the middle of cutting some pajama pants and I’ll spot some fabric out of the corner of my eye. So, I stop making the jammies and start on something totally different. I have no idea why I do this, but it is really distracting!

I have many knit hat for kids, more latte cozies, and some new mug rugs to list. I’m trying hard to stay focused on gift making though so that I have things to give my family. Taking photos of our items and editing them takes a lot of time for me. Especially now that the weather is so gross. I love taking my photos outside. The natural light makes everything look its best. Having to take my pictures inside is not fun. It takes so many more photos before I get one that I am happy with.

I’ve decided that my best bet is come up with a plan of action and write it down on my white board. My plan is this: sew gifts all weekend (and don’t get distracted by pretty fabrics while I’m doing it), take all of my photos for listing on Monday, and put my items for sale on Etsy on Tuesday. I think I can stick to that plan. I feel like taking photos on the same day every week, and listing items on the same day every week might help me be more productive.

Does anyone else that sells items online have a system that works for them? Up until now I have been very sporadic about my listing habits. I’m now at the point where I feel like I need to be a little more consistent.

I’ll share my photos on Monday after I spend the day obsessing over the perfect shot. One post for gifts I made, and another post for items I’ll be listing for sale. Perhaps even a tutorial for an item that can be quickly made if you need a last minute gift and have been slacking like I have!

Selina

Leave a Reply

