Wicked

21 Aug

I’ve decided today to write about something other than sewing. Shocking, I know. I haven’t been motivated much to get any sewing done, so this is my lame attempt to change the subject. The awesome thing about my “job” is that if I don’t feel like doing it, I don’t have to.

Yesterday I went to the local thrift store. It is one of my favorite places to shop. I bought several books there, one of which was Wicked. I have heard nothing but wonderful things about this book. Any book that inspires a Broadway musical HAS to be good, right? That’s my theory. So far, I’m loving it. When I got it home and cracked it open, the first thing I noticed was the illustration of the map on the first page. Have you ever noticed that books with maps in them are always fantastic? Take the Lord of the Rings trilogy, for example. Maps. I love stories that are so complex, and have so many characters and places, that you need a map for reference to keep them all straight. The gist of this book is basically how the wicked witch came to be wicked in the first place. It is fascinating to me to think of why people are the way that they are. What makes them tick. It is a great realization when you finally discover that bullies wouldn’t be bullies if only someone had paid attention to them or gave them any affection. It is never so simple as “that kid is mean”. The complexities of humans never cease to amaze me. The tiniest little thing can change the entire course of our lives. Mind boggling.

I want to know who else has read this book. What do you think of it? I’m off to pour another cup of coffee and continue reading. I’d love to hear any opinions on the book, but no spoilers! I’m not done with it yet! Give me two more days. Books like this cause me to read non-stop until I’m finished. My house could fall apart around me and I would shush it for being so noisy as it fell. “Would you please?!?! Can’t you see I’m trying to read?”

Selina

Leave a Reply

