The End of Summer is Near

16 Aug

I just got home today from my last vacation of the summer. The family and I went to Lake O’Sullivan. It was incredibly hot and my husband is now hot pink. We took our trailer up to the lake and were gone for four days. Floating around in inner tubes, soaking up the sun, and sucking down a few ice cold beers; that is a perfect weekend. By a sheer twist of fate, it ended up being a bit more relaxing than I had expected.

I am normally attached to my phone. I have it on me all the time and I feel naked without it. The morning we left for our camping trip, I plugged it into the computer and noticed that I had a software update. I updated it, and my phone crashed. I was furious! I didn’t have time to restore it so I had no choice but to leave without it. It really is something odd to not hear little chirps echoing from my pocket every few minutes. I’d hear a bird and then touch my pocket out of habit. I’ve realized that I don’t like that about myself. Once in awhile it is good to disconnect with everyone else, and re-connect with your kids and your spouse instead.

I’ve been working on a new quilt for a couple of weeks and I only have the binding left to finish. I brought it with me to the lake. I got up at 6 o’clock every morning. I would walk the dog, brew a pot of coffee, and then sit by the lake sipping my coffee while I hand stitched the binding down. There was something so peaceful about it and I found myself stitching really slowly because I was paying so much attention to the beauty all around me instead. If I could pack up my life and move it to the lake, I think that just might make me happy.

Leave a Reply

