Finally Home

22 Jul

Yesterday I got home from my vacation. I sure missed it. The familiarity and the freedom to do my own thing; to make an absolute mess if I so choose. That’s why I love being home. My week away was a great time, and I came back with renewed ambition. Something about being around other people for an extended period of time and seeing how they live always prompts me to make changes in my own life. For instance, I went grocery shopping today and I bought all organic foods. I didn’t buy anything microwavable. I’m a mission to cook more for my family and make us healthier.

Another thing about coming home that was wonderful… The day I came back we made another sale in our Etsy shop! Selling things that we make is so exciting! It’s like an affirmation that people really do like what we do. Family has to say “Oh, I love that!” because they’re family. But total strangers loving something we made, with our own two hands, and paying us money? Now that is something that really makes me happy inside. In case you’re wondering what you missed out on, it was the Summer Camp quilt that I posted not too long ago. It looks like we are going to have to kick it into high gear and get going on these sewing machines. We are doing far better than we had anticipated. Summer has kept us both very busy and I’m excited for the kids to go back to school so I can get some work done uninterrupted!

I woke up at 6 o’clock this morning and couldn’t go back to sleep. Someone I know has a birthday coming up (where are all these birthdays coming from?) so I decided to head downstairs and start sewing up something for her. What I ended up with was a really simple and fun market bag. She does the farmers market a lot and this bag will be perfect for that. It was so simple that I am now planning to make several to list in our shop. Be on the lookout for some market bags that will be available soon.

It’s time to get busy with the rest of my day. I’ve got dinner in the crock pot so I’m looking forward to a house full of wonderful smells later this afternoon. My mom is coming for lunch today and we’ll be having hummus with pita bread, fruits and veggies, baked chips… Yum! If I could eat and sew all day, every day, I’d be a happy girl!

Selina

Leave a Reply

