Blocks of the Month

29 Mar

After a recent weekend getaway to St. Louis, I can now say I’ve traveled the length of the Lewis and Clark trail. In reverse and by car, but I made the journey none the less!

Image

See? We made it to The Gateway to the West!

It seems fitting that The Kansas City Star has a Block of the Month pattern called The Spirit of Sacagawea: A Textile Tribute to an American Heroine for 2012.  I was late to the game to find out about it. The pattern comes out in the newspaper on the third Tuesday of the month. I missed January’s pattern by a few days and had a hard time finding anyone who still gets the newspaper. I put a call out on Craigslist to anyone who may still have the paper, and was luck enough to receive two in the mail the very next day! How sweet is that?! I sent both senders a thank you note and a little something for their kindness. Certainly thoughtfulness like that is rare and should be praised!

Sacagawea Block of the Month Quilt

Kansas City Star Block of the Month, The Spirit of Sacagawea

I figure having only one block a month gives me time to finish each block. (How many times have I said THAT before?!) I have finished both January and February’s blocks, and am looking to start on March this weekend!

January

February

One of my favorite things about these blocks is that it calls for them to be scrappy. So, I have not yet purchased a thing for these blocks! I told you I was going to use my scraps! I will say this though; Don’t piece when you’re upset! I had a terrible week and attempted the Mariner’s compass. I had to rip out every single stitch in the first 64 segments I sewed! So, there it is. Imperfect, but done!

I’ve also joined the Dessert of the Month cross stitch form The Frosted Pumpkin and have been trying to keep up with that!

Dessert of the Month

Keep with Selina’s progress as well at her Sew it Up blog! Happy stitching!

Lizze

One Response to “Blocks of the Month”

  1. craftymrsk March 29, 2012 at 7:25 pm #

    Love it all! That mariners compass is impressive. I’d be terrified! I have yet to start march on my cross stitch and the April pattern will be here in only 3 days. Why do we always take on so much? I always feel like I’m playing catch up!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

