Making the Most of Scraps

10 Jan

What does your stash look like? (I’m talking fabric stash here! Don’t be crazy!) Does it consist of neatly folded, color coordinated, organized fat quarter sized pieces or larger? Because mine sure doesn’t! I have yardage, unfinished kits, kits I’ve cut and promised to get to as soon as I finish my next project, fat quarter bundles, jelly rolls and of course, scraps. When I say scraps, I mean bags of scrap fabric I couldn’t bear to part with after cutting out the piece I needed.
I wouldn’t call my self a hoarder, per se, but my stash is nothing to sneeze at. In a fit of organization I did seperate my scraps into categories by project or color and put them all into their own gallon sized zip lock bags. I have a tote bin full of “coordinated” scrap bags. But what am I going to do with them all? I think all sewists eventually ask themselves that question. You can’t throw them out! What if I need
that?!

image

Don't judge!

I can see the inevitable conclusion of my spate of itty bitty fabric collecting. I will eventually be burried with it all, or it will bury me. Something must be done. And since the new year is upon us, I must take the opportunity to resolve to create something with scraps and scraps only.
I’ve actually put this into practice and have made a few things in the past month already. Many of the covers I make include scrap batting and backing from other projects. I did make a Kindle Fire cover for a friend this Christmas:

image

Cool girls like skulls AND pink!

From the scraps of this project I created a DS cover for my daughter. She really loved the fabric, and I hadn’t thought of a handmade gift for her for Christmas yet, so I came up with this:

image

image

It’s has space for her DS, a divider to keep the charger seperate and slots for the games. Taking what I knew from making so many Zippy Strippy bags, it wasn’t terribly hard to create!
My challenge has begun, and I challenge you to do the same! I will alternate between scrap projects and new material projects. It may not make a huge dent, but hopefully I will double my finished project total for the year! I will post projects as I go. I would love to hear what you’re creating too!

Lizze

3 Responses to “Making the Most of Scraps”

  1. kitty pearl January 10, 2012 at 2:46 am #

    YAY the girls r back to blogging! LUV the skull :)

  2. kathleen January 10, 2012 at 3:08 am #

    Placemats! A good use for scraps and orphan squares.

  3. Beth January 17, 2012 at 2:31 pm #

    My scrap goal is to make random blocks. By random I also mean size/shape. Eventually, I hope it turns into a crazy (but cool) quilt. I also try to use them up for small projects too. Cute presents :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

