Fair Love

30 Sep

 

As many of you know, I entered a couple of quilts into our local fair recently. Our fair is very large. One of the 10 largest fairs in the US actually. It is so expensive to eat or ride rides at the fair so we haven’t done that for several years. My favorite part about the fair though is looking at all of the exhibits, listening to local bands, and the animals.

We had a really great time this year. We looked at all of the agriculture exhibits (which are always amazing). The kids got to do some free activities like beading and painting. We saw a couple different bands and a magician.

We love watching the draft horses. They really are some of the most beautiful animals ever. I caught this picture on my cell phone and thought it turned out really cool (totally by accident).

There was one barn full of nothing but bunnies. We looked at every single one. This little guy stole my heart.

Of course we had to go see the quilts. There were hundreds of them hanging from the ceiling.

 

Imagine my surprise when I saw my quilt, in this sea of gorgeousness, hanging there with a little red ribbon on it.

I just got my quilts back this Tuesday, and wouldn’t you know it, the Quilting Gallery Contest this week is Flying Geese! This quilt has over 100 flying geese pieces in it, so I decided to enter. It’s not cheating to win more than one award for the same quilt, right? Heehee!

If you are so inclined, won’t you please take a peek at the quilts in the contest this week and vote for your favorite? I hope you choose mine, but there are always many beautiful quilts there so if you choose another it’s okay. I’ll only cry for a week or so ;) Voting starts tomorrow and goes through Sunday.

http://quiltinggallery.com/tag/weekly-themed-quilt-contest/

Selina

 

3 Responses to “Fair Love”

  1. Beth October 3, 2011 at 1:46 pm #

    I know I’ve said this before, but CONGRATS! The quilt is beautiful! Good luck with the contest :)

  2. Sew Determined October 5, 2011 at 1:17 pm #

    Congrats! I love quilts. Quilting is one area of sewing I have been intimidated to try! I am always impressed by the hours of work and craftsmanship that goes into quilt making.

    • wanderingstarsonetsy October 7, 2011 at 5:28 am #

      It can be intimidating, but the best way to learn is to jump in and try it! You’ll make plenty of mistakes your first time (even second and third too), but consider it practice. There are so many books at the library and videos on youtube to help guide you along. That’s how I learned!!! And, of course, people in the online community are so helpful when you have any questions – including us! Ask away!

      Selina

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

